CPA License in Kansas
Kansas is one of the strict states that requires you to earn all 150 credit hours before you can sit for the exam. They also require a few unique education qualifications that most states do not. For instance, you will need at least 11 credit hours of written and oral communications before you are eligible.
Letís take a look at what you need to do to take the exam and get licensed.
Kansas CPA Exam Requirements
In order to be eligible to sit for the exam in Kansas, candidates must meet the following personal qualifications and educational requirements.
- No minimum age limit
- Not required to be a US citizen
- Must be a KS resident
- Valid Social Security Number required
- KS does participate in the International Examination Program
Educational Requirements to Sit
There are a few odd requirements that Kansas makes you complete before you are eligible to sit for the exam, but most of them are straight forward. Basically, you will need to complete all 150 semester hours that meet the following:
Bachelorís or Graduate Degree including:
- 30 credit hours in Accounting classes including financial accounting, auditing, and taxation
- 42 credit hours in General Business courses like Management, Marketing, and Law
- 11 credit hours of Oral and Written Communications
I assume the communications piece of qualification is meant to prepare you for the BEC written essay section of the exam. Either way, you will be able to fulfill this pubic speaking, business writing, or essay classes.
You can start your application process up to 8 weeks before you finish your education. This is a great opportunity because you can start the whole application process why you are still in school. This way as soon as you graduate, you will be able to take your first section!
The total cost to take the CPA exam in Kansas is $874.08 including an initial one-time $145 application fee. The cost for each section is listed below.
|AUD Ė Audit||$192.03|
|FAR Ė Financial Accounting and Reporting||$192.03|
|BEC Ė Business Environment and Concepts||$172.51|
|REG Ė Regulation||$172.51|
The fees are typically based on the duration of the exam. Thatís why the FAR and AUD exams cost the most.
IMPORTANT Ė Donít get excited and register for all the sections at once. Your NIT or notice to sit is only valid for six months. This means it will expire and you will have to re-register. Unfortunately you will have to pay to register again. Re-registration application fees are $65 for one section and vary depending on how many your sign up for at once, so only sign up for the exams that you are ready to sit for in the next 6 months.
Here are the registration fees you will have to pay. As you can see, registering more exams at once will save you some money.
- 1 section $65.00
- 2 sections $80.00
- 3 sections $95.00
- 4 sections $110.00
CPA License Requirements
You might be thinking that just taking the exam is a huge process. Youíre right, but itís only the first step in becoming a CPA in KS. After you pass the exam, there are a few administrative things you must do before you can truly call yourself a Certified Public Accountant. Here is the basic process.
Pass the Exam
Youíll have to pass all four sections of the exam with a score of at least 75 in an 18-month period.
Submit all the required paperwork to the state board usually includes transcripts, license application, and proof of work experience.
Pay the $100 license/certification fees with your application.
Take and pass the AICPA Professional Ethics exam (found on the AICPA website)
There are no additional requirements because all 150 hours are required before you take your first section.
Work Experience Requirements
The Kansas work experience rules are very similar to most other states. You are required to have:
1-year of general accounting experience in Public Accounting, Governmental Accounting, Private Industry, or Academia/Teaching under the supervision of a current CPA
More Exam Resources and Information
The entire process of applying, taking the exam, and sending your paperwork can be quite an involved, especially if you attended more than one college. Since you have to show proof of your education, youíll have to send in transcripts from every college youíve attended. This can be a pain.
I think itís important to contact the state board directly to see what they already have on file and more importantly what they need to complete your application.
For example, sometimes the state doesnít receive your test scores from Prometrics. Unfortunately, state boards will rarely contact you and say something is missing. Itís a good idea to contact them directly to confirm they have everything they need.
Here is the contact info for the state board.
- Landon State Office Building
- 900 SW Jackson, Suite 556
- Topeka, KS 66612-1239
- Phone: 785-296-2162
- Fax: 785-291-3501
Time to Get Busy!
OK. So you have all the information to get signed up for the exam. Now you need to find a study guide that will work for you. Depending on how you learn, your overall time frame goals, and budget, picking the right CPA review course can be tricky. Donít waste any time though. Jump into it right away.
Generally, state boards take anywhere from one to three months to review and approve your application. You can spend this time to choose your first CPA exam section and study to pass the CPA exam your first try.